Practically Perfect Porch Living

Max Kim-Bee, Veranda.com

Max Kim-Bee, Veranda.com

Here in Texas, we spend a lot of time outdoors so a great patio, porch or deck is a must. And, guess what?  Hanging around outdoors is more than a Texas thing. According to a survey by the Hearth, Patio & Barbeque Association, homebuilders from coast-to-coast list a deck among the top three features most requested by new home buyers. And in a recent survey by the American Society of Landscape Architects, nearly 98% of residential architects surveyed gave outdoor living spaces two green thumbs-up in popularity by clients.

So is it any wonder that when I moved into my new home, I knew the miniscule concrete slab that the builder called a patio (or “the disgrace to design” as I dubbed it) had to go? Out came my piggy bank and in went every bit of spare change I could muster for the next two years.

While saving, I snipped photos of dreamy outdoor living spaces and made note of design elements I loved most.

From the grand loggia above, I zeroed in on how lattice and beefy columns add architectural interest, especially when painted a crisp white hue.

Alec Hemer, CountryLiving.com

Alec Hemer, CountryLiving.com

Also gorgeous–the soft blues, textural wicker and casual feel of this outdoor dining area in a California home.

 Lucas Allen, CountryLiving.com


Lucas Allen, CountryLiving.com

When I spied the beadboard ceiling above this farmhouse porch, I fell hook, line and sinker. It adds lovely detail, tone-on-tone pattern and looks really pretty mixed with vintage metal chairs and a cushy iron daybed that turns this outdoor room into a lazy day sleeping porch.

Each of these elements are working their way into the design of my Texas porch. So are furnishings like these…

WestElm.com

WestElm.com

Hanging Wire Pot Brackets put a contemporary spin on a classic and make it easy to create a vertical focal point.

RetroMetalChairs.com

RetroMetalChairs.com

The Bellaire metal lawn chair is painted in chic robin’s egg blue and made in Jefferson, Texas. Need I say more?

CrateandBarrel.com

CrateandBarrel.com

I have my eye on the Dyna Coral indoor-outdoor rug. Brightly colored, boldly patterned and made of easy-care, durable polypropylene–this rug will give any patio, porch or deck floor a big dose of wow.

My Texas porch is still a work in-progress but I do know this. When it’s finished, it’ll be the perfect place to sit a spell and drink a big glass of iced tea as my corgis nap. What more could a girl ask for?

