4 Stylish Ways to Warm Up Fast

#1 JPEG Snow scene outside window

Carla Jordan

Snow scenes like this one outside my window are more rare here in Texas than in Kansas City where I grew up.  But right now, despite my long-time Lone Star status, winter has its icy grip on me, myself and I.  Like you, I’m looking for ways to keep warm while waiting for the Polar Vortex (such a dramatic name!) to take its leave.  However, I’ve found that there’s no need to give style the boot while donning my boots and dressing my home in its frigid weather-fighting best.  Here’s how to make haute and heat to meet in ways that’ll warm your stylish senses. 

DrHeaterUSA.com

DrHeaterUSA.com

The Dr. Heater infrared zone heater warms my bedroom at night while helping lower my heating bill. This auto energy-saving model has a dual heating system that delivers 60% more heat than competitors, a 12-hour auto shut-off timer and a remote control.  It’s also safe to use next to furniture and on carpet; and is encased in a compact wood frame that blends in with surrounding room decor. To me, this is the R2D2 of the heating world.

LLBean.com

LLBean.com

I all but glued an L.L. Bean logo above my front door when living near Philadelphia.  You name it, I bought it from the Bean while trying to stay warm. Their Baffle-box white feather bed was one of my smartest purchases. Filled with 100% white down (and made in the USA), it not only created a layer of warmth above my mattress that was divine, it delivered a luxe touch during more power outage-filled snow storms than I care to recall.  I still sleep on a featherbed (one from L. L. Bean, as a matter of fact!) and so should you.

BedBathBeyond.com

BedBathBeyond.com

Berkshire Blanket’s 100% Egyptian cotton blanket is my all-time favorite because it’s super-soft and just the right weight to layer beneath a quilt during winter and then use as a stand-alone during warmer months.  This blanket comes in a nice neutral color palette and its diamond weave pattern is on-trend.

Garnet Hill.com

Garnet Hill.com

I come from a family of quilt lovers and makers, although I was told once by an aunt not to give up my day job when she saw my quilt stitches (she was right).  Quilts are an easy way to add color, pattern and warmth to the bed.  With its large circular patches of retro prints, the Johanna quilt reinvents a classic in a contemporary way.

Another plus–you can order all of these furnishings online so there’s no need to get out in the snow and ice.  Let the delivery guy do that!

Stay warm, safe and stylish!

